Error Message: Deleting item NAME: A deleted item with the same name NAME exists already. Rollback transaction.

Symptom:

When attempting to purge/delete a file, you may get this message:

Deleting item NAME: A deleted item with the same name NAME exists already. Rollback transaction.

Cause:

The error occurs when there is already a deleted file with the same name in the parent project.

Resolution:

You need to purge the deleted file first:

  • Select the parent project where the deleted item resides.
  • To display the Project Properties dialog box, you can click the Show Properties icon on the toolbar, or select File->Properties menu, or right-click the parent project and click Properties
  • In the Deleted Items tab, highlight and select the deleted item you want to purge.
  • Click Purge.

For more information, please click here.